top of page

Fit for Life



I’ve always prided myself on my dedication to fitness. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not super cheery about waking up early and getting out of my comfy PJs to put on a pair of spandex. I do enjoy a good run, although currently it’s confined to the treadmill in my basement due to the frigid Chicago weather. For me, it’s not just doing something that we all know we should do. It’s the 30 minutes I have completely to myself, to think, or zone out, to be with nature (when possible), and just wake up! My point is, it helps if it’s something you look forward to. So, if you don’t work out, start small, and start with something that could be fun: Zumba, walking, yoga, or a sport.


If you already work out, think about how to diversify your work out and make it more challenging. Today I met Noah Defraties: NPC IL Men’s Physique champion of 2018. To burn calories, you have to build muscle. With muscle you can turn your body into a fat burning machine and burn calories even while you are sitting on your bum!


My downfall is snacking. With snacking your body will burn the calories you just consumed, e.g. in a bag of pretzels, rather than burning fat. Without proper nutrition, working out will get you nowhere. The quick and simple: focus on protein and veggies (yup, low carb). Quick tip from The bodybuilding champion...stay on track for 3 days and then allow one meal to eat out or simply indulge at home. For example, stick to the plan M, T, W and go out Wednesday night. Stay on track Th, F, Sa and plan a special meal or go out for a drink Saturday night. Having that reprieve will keep you consistent.


Here is the work out plan that he proposed:


M, W, F: 30 minutes of cardio on an empty stomach (goal Hr 120-140 bpm)


T, Th, Sat: 30 minute full-body weight lifting routine


I will periodically give tidbits on fitness, but if you don’t have a plan for healthy eating and working out...start one now! If you are new to exercise, having a fitness coach will help assure that you are challenging yourself, but still maintaining proper form to prevent injury. And don’t forget to consult your physician before starting any new regimen! #fitness, #Noah, #workoutplan, #nutrition

17 views0 comments
bottom of page