top of page

IBS and the LOW FODMAP diet

Irritable bowel syndrome (IBS) is a common cause of abdominal pain associated with altered bowel habits such as diarrhea or constipation (with some patients alternating between the two) or a change in the appearance of the stool (pebbles, rabbit poops, soft serve…you name it, I’ve heard it). If your doctor diagnosed you with this condition, he or she may have suggested a diet low in FODMAPs (Fermentable Oligosaccharides, Disaccharides, Monosaccharides And Polyols). You may have received a sheet of paper with foods that are low in FODMAPs (foods to eat) and high in FODMAPs (foods not to eat). This is what our handout looks like:



And with that, Good Luck! Just kidding. That’s why I am writing this blog post: we need to bridge the gap here.


I recently went to a conference on IBS and had the opportunity to learn from the top physician leaders/researchers in functional intestinal disorders. To start: Not everyone responds to this diet. It is very restrictive and is not meant to be a diet that you stay on life long. I almost heard your sigh of relief!


It is recommended to do a complete elimination for 2-4 weeks. If you respond to the Low FODMAP diet, then you would start the reintroduction of foods back into the diet. If you do not respond to a complete elimination (assuming there was no cheating), then I would talk to your doctor about other treatments for your IBS.


There is an app that I do recommend, called the Monash University app. However, if the steps are not clear, it may be helpful to see a dietician.


So, what am I going to do for you: go on a Low FODMAP diet. If you knew the answer, then you know me by now. I just ate Spaghetti and Meatballs, so I had a Fructan overload with wheat angel hair pasta, garlic and onions (foods NOT to eat on a low FODMAP diet). I will start the elimination diet tomorrow. I am here to put myself in your shoes and walk with you through this process! And…good luck to me this time!

163 views1 comment
bottom of page