top of page

Going gluten free

Updated: Feb 1, 2019

So what's the rage behind going gluten free? Gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye and barley. Does everyone need to jump on board? Patients with celiac disease definitely need to be on a gluten free diet. Celiac disease is diagnosed with blood tests to see if there are antibodies to gluten (e.g. Tissue Transglutaminase IgA level) and is confirmed on biopsies taken from the duodenum (first portion of the small intestine) which is done during an upper endoscopy/Esophagogastroduodenoscopy (EGD). Some of my patients who do not have celiac disease still swear by going gluten free, and report less bloating, more energy, and are able to loose weight. They may have a gluten "sensitivity" but do not have celiac disease.


Today I am going to start a gluten free diet to experience this first hand. My first complaint is that I cannot drink beer! I am going to commit myself to one week and then decide if I need to explore this further.


 

Let's start with what I can eat: rice, corn/grits, quinoa, millet, buckwheat, soybeans, bean/lentil/nut flours, dairy, flax, bran, potato, meat, fish/seafood, fruit, beans, and uncontaminated oats, seeds and nuts


Now, what can I drink (let's first combat my no beer fear): wine, rum, tequila, vodka, whiskey; also ok to drink tea, 100% fruit juice, coffee



 

What I can't eat: flour, bread, muffins, pastries, most cereals, couscous, faro, soy sauce, some sauces (for example if made with a roux), spreads, spices, condiments, and salad dressings; certain processed meats and meat substitutes (veggie burgers); some medicines also contain gluten


What I can't drink: beers, ales, lagers, malt beverages and malt vinegars


#going gluten #celiac disease vs sensitivity





41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page