top of page

Gluten free at a party

Updated: Mar 5, 2019

In the aftermath of hosting a birthday party for my soon to be 4 and 6 year old, I reflect upon the day…(and the mess). Not only did we host a birthday party, we had another one to go to in the afternoon!

So, how are your supposed to do gluten free when the main course is pizza and the main beverage is beer? Well you order a gluten free pizza with green peppers, onions and jalapenos…personal size…so cute! Then you bring a cider, and 2 other gluten free beers and make everyone do a gluten free beer taste test! I did add one regular beer to see how it would compare (a control group).


So how did the gluten free beers fair:

#1: Fools cider Tart cherry with 20 pts

#2: Lil Sumptin (this is not gluten free) with 18 pts

#3: Omission Pale Ale with 15 pts

#4: Glutenberg blonde ale with 11 pts





Thanks to everyone who participated! I did not disclose that the beers were gluten free (blinded studies are better)…but now you know! I thought all of the gluten free beers were delicious and I NO longer have the beer fear! #glutenfreebeer


 

So, when everyone is having the extra moist chocolate cake with chocolate mousse filling from Costco, what should you do? You whip out your overly priced petite gluten free/vegan free chocolate cupcake with chocolate mousse frosting, in its very own plastic container for 1.




Here is a picture of my cupcake after I ate 80% of it. Hey I was in the moment, right before I realized I should have taken this picture. Would I rather eat the Costco cake…um yeah.


 

At the next party, I was able to still stay on track. SO, what do you do when you have Popeyes fried chicken staring you in the face? Thankfully I had made myself an almond milk/protein/banana/almond butter smoothie which warded off any hunger and satisfied my sweet tooth, allowing me to say no to birthday cake for the second time today! But guess what? There was a cider with my name on it.


Oh, did I mention it’s Super Bowl Sunday tomorrow?




56 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page