top of page

Week in Review of going Gluten Free

Updated: Feb 10, 2019

So I did it... a 7 day journey into what it feels like to be on a gluten free diet. Do I completely understand what it feels like to have celiac disease...obviously not. First and foremost, I don't have any symptoms that one with celiac disease or one with a non celiac gluten sensitivity experiences. And c'mon it was only a week. As is stands today, celiac disease requires changing how you eat for the rest of your life. Although there are many gluten free options at the grocery store and resources and menus online, you will have to do your own due diligence. I always recommend seeing a dietician, following up with your gastroenterologist, attending a support group and calling ahead when eating out. This will be a journey for you and even a change for your friends and family to adopt to. It is important that you take control of your own health. Set up a gluten free space in the kitchen. Be firm when your friends or family members tempt you with food that you shouldn't be consuming (even 1/2 tsp of gluten can cause an immune reaction in patients with celiac disease). There will be setbacks, inadvertent gluten exposure, and possibly feelings of isolation. Remember, think about what you CAN eat and not what you can't eat. Bring your own gluten free beer, dessert or even meal to a party...hey you gotta eat!


SO what did I eat? I ate a lot of omelettes, Siggi's yogurt and protein shakes for breakfast. I make my own protein shakes using Vega vanilla protein powder. I sometimes have one to tie me over to my next meal. I ate a lean protein such as salmon, turkey, chicken or seafood with vegetables for dinner. I ate zucchini noodles, Jovial GF spaghetti noodles, or rice to go along with the protein. I usually had leftovers for lunch or a salad from Whole Foods in addition to a Kirkland cookie dough protein bar which is gluten free. For dessert, I would have a piece of gluten free dark chocolate with almonds or Tate's gluten free chocolate chip cookies. I had hummus or La terra fina spinach artichoke and Parmesan dip with Back to Nature sea salt adzuki bean crackers for a snack. I also like just munching on veggies or skinny pop which is gluten free. My favorite restaurant to eat out at was PF Changs because they use a separate wok and their Chang's gluten free spicy chicken was just as delicious as the non gluten free counterpart. What did I drink...my favorite was Two Fools cherry Cider (from a local cidery in Naperville!). I drank wine at times, but I prefer beer...even gluten free beer!


Should everyone jump on board?? Should you adopt this diet to loose weight even if you don't have celiac disease? Although I did feel that I was healthier on this diet by avoiding cakes/pastries and breaded foods, I want to forewarn you that some people can gain weight on a gluten free diet. Many gluten free desserts have more calories and sugar than their gluten containing dessert counterparts. It is also important to make sure that you get enough fiber in the diet with eating fruits, vegetables and gluten free carbohydrates that are rich in fiber such as brown rice and quinoa. Fiber is important for having regular bowel movements, can assist in preventing some diseases, and helps you feel full longer! You may be at risk for vitamin and mineral deficiencies if you have celiac disease. Talk to your gastroenterologist about ordering tests to assess for this. If you adopt this diet and you don't have celiac disease, you still may be prone to some deficiencies as many gluten free foods are not fortified with vitamins and minerals. Also, if you adopt this diet and you don't have celiac disease or a non celiac gluten sensitivity, it can be restrictive and possibly isolating.


What have I gained from the experience? I do feel more confident that I can empathize with my patients who have celiac disease and hope that I can ease them into this transition.


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page